HomeArchivesSubmissionsAbout UsGBR Blog


Green Briar Review is an independent literary magazine. We're looking for writing from anywhere that the Green Briar exists, which is probably everywhere. Check out our guidelines and send us something: we'd love to read your work! We believe that the best writing displays an awareness of language—the ironies and contradictions—that are mirrored by the world in which we live. We like the experimental and edgy, the traditional and conservative, the lyrical or minimal.

Green Briar Review accepts nonfiction and fiction in a variety of forms, as well as poetry. Please submit only one piece of fiction and/or nonfiction at a time, and no more than two poems. See our Submissions page for more information. We use Submittable. ​

You can conctact us at info@greenbriarreview.com

ISSN 2330-2690

Our logo was designed by Vanessa Burkly. You can check her out here: https://vanessaburkly.com/


Geoff Watkinson (2012 - Present)
Founder / Editor / Nonfiction Editor
Geoff founded Green Briar Review in June 2012. He has an MFA from Old Dominion University and has contributed to GuernicaThe HumanistThe San Diego Union-TribuneThe Virginian PilotstorySouthSwitchback, Moon City Review, and Bluestemamong others. He teaches writing and literature at Seton Hall University in New Jersey. Check him out here.

Laura Huey Chamberlain
Fiction Editor
Laura Huey Chamberlain is a proposal manager in the Washington, D.C., area. Before that, she edited academic journals and books and taught literature and writing at various colleges and universities, including Penn State New Kensington and Duquesne University. She currently studies the craft of short fiction at The Writer’s Center in Bethesda, MD, and she's been a finalist for the Glimmer Train Award for New Writers.

LeeAnn Adams
Fiction Editor
LeeAnn Adams writes under the pseudonym, L. N. Holmes. She is the author of the micro-chapbook, Space, Collisions (Ghost City Press). Her writing has appeared in F(r)iction, Newfound, Vestal Review, Fathom, Crack the Spine, and other magazines and journals. Her story, "Pheonix Fire Fight," won the Apparition Lit Flash Fiction Contest in April 2018. You can follow her on Twitter (@LNHolmeswriter) and learn more about her at lnholmeswriter.wordpress.com.

Talia Smart
Fiction / Nonfiction Editor
Talia Smart received a BA in English from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill in 2018. She loves to read, write, and edit. In addition to her work at Green Briar Review, Talia is a freelance editor and a PR assistant at Wisdom House Books in NC. Her past internships at Algonquin Books of Chapel Hill, Folio Literary Management, and Duke University Press have thoroughly informed her expertise on all things books and publishing. In her free time, Talia volunteers at Prison Books Collective, doing her best to help get literature to those without regular access. She loves animals and has an adorable lab/pit puppy named Pluto! Visit her website at www.editingissmart.com.

Diana Kim
Fiction Editor
Diana Kim has a BA in English Literature and Creative Writing from Seton Hall University, where she is currently working towards an MA in English and Creative Writing and teaches first-year writing and literature. Diana has served as the editor for Seton Hall's student literary magazine, Corner Pocket, and has interned at One Story magazine in Brooklyn. 

Jane Ward
Poetry Editor
Jane Ward is a New Jersey-based writer and mother of two young sons. She manages public relations for a healthcare company. She holds a BA in English from Catholic University and an MPhil in Irish Literature from Trinity College, Dublin, Ireland.

Jeff Newberry
Poetry Editor
Jeff Newberry teaches in the Writing and Communications Program at Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College in Tifton, Georgia. The author of a novel, a collection of poetry, and a chapbook, he is the co-author (with Justin Evans) of the forthcoming collection Cross County (WordTech Editions, 2019). He holds a Ph.D. in English from the Creative Writing Progam at the University of Georgia. Find out more about him here.

​Former Staff
Lucian Mattison (2013 - 2016)

Andrew Squitiro (2013 - 2016)

Sarah Pringle (2013 - 2016)

Devin Stabley-Conde (2016)

Paul Fauteux (2016)

Jake Bateman (2016)

Sally J. Johnson (2013 - 2015)

Paul Pastorini (2012 - 2015)

Martha Park​ (2015)

Kristen Keckler (2014)

​Phil Quam (2013 - 2016)

Lucas Flatt (2014 - 2016)

Elizabeth Genovise (2014 - 2016)

Support Duotrope 
and check out our listing.